My congress planner

Past awards

The European CanCer Organisation Lifetime Achievement Award

The ECCO Award for Lifetime Achievement was established by the ECCO Board of Directors in early 2009, awarded for the first time at the ECCO 15- ESMO 34th Multidisciplinary Congress, Berlin, in 2009.

In 2009, the ECCO Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred to Margaret Foti, Ph.D., M.D. (h.c.), AACR Chief Executive Officer(USA), in recognition of her outstanding contribution to cancer research and her remarkable scientific leadership. 

The European CanCer Organisation Clinical Research Award

The ECCO Clinical Research Award is conferred in recognition of an outstanding international contribution to the integration of scientific research and clinical practice in the field of cancer.

In 2009, ECCO confered 2 Clinical Research Awards, to Professor Martine Piccart (Belgium) and to Professor R.J. Heald (UK). Both awards were presented by Professor Alexander M.M. Eggermont during a Presidential session at the joint ECCO 15 – ESMO 34th Multidisciplinary Congress in Berlin.