European Cancer Organisation

ECCO NEWS: ECCO President-Elect: Professor Philip Poortmans

On behalf of the ECCO General Assembly and Staff, we are delighted to welcome Professor Philip Poortmans as the ECCO President-Elect.

Philip Poortmans is a radiation oncologist whose special interests include breast cancer, quality assurance in clinical trials, malignant lymphoma and rare tumours.

Philip Poortmans is Chair of the ECCO Oncopolicy Committee and  Executive and Head of the Radiation Oncology Department of the Radboud university medical center in Nijmegen, Netherlands - moving soon to Institut Curie in Paris, France. He is the Past–President of the European SocieTy for Radiotherapy & Oncology (ESTRO) and active in the ESTRO School of Radiotherapy and Oncology. He is also involved in the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) as member of the Radiation Oncology, Lymphoma and Breast Groups and until recently of the Quality Assurance Committee.

Philip Poortmans will serve:

  • As President-Elect for a term of one year starting on January 2017;
  • As President for a term of two years starting on January 2018;
  • As Past-President for a term of one year starting on January 2020.
Page last modified: