European Cancer Organisation

1st ECCO Policy Workshop on Multidisciplinary Cancer Care

ECCO ESO workshop



University Foundation
Room Félicien Cattier 
Rue d'Egmont  11 
1000 Brussels, Belgium



The 1st ECCO Policy Workshop on Multidisciplinary Cancer Care aims to shape the policy environment at European and national levels to improve quality of cancer care across Europe and decrease inequalities in cancer outcomes. 

This Workshop is an educational initiative resulting from ECCO’s work on the Essential Requirements for Quality Cancer Care and resolutions adapted during the ECCO 2018 European Cancer Summit in September 2018.

ECCO is grateful to the European School of Oncology (ESO) for its dedication and financial support for the Workshop.


Who should attend?

  • EU and national/regional government officials
  • Elected policy makers in the healthcare sector 
  • Representatives of ECCO Member Societies 
  • Healthcare providers including hospitals, cancer centres and oncology departments
  • Patient organisations including patient advocates
  • Education providers
  • Health NGOs
  • Healthcare insurance providers and other payer organisations
  • Regulatory professionals
  • All stakeholders interested in the improvement of quality cancer care



The Workshop will welcome expert speakers to debate and elaborate on:

  • What is quality cancer care
  • EU overview on quality cancer care
  • How do we measure and evaluate quality cancer care
  • Challenges in implementation of quality cancer care







Confirmed Speakers

Prof Peter Naredi
ECCO Past-President

Dr Alberto Costa
European School
Oncology (ESO)

  Prof Philip Poortmans
ECCO President

Dr Ian Banks
ECCO Patient Advisory Committee
Elke Anklam
European Commission
  Dr Tit Albreht
National Institute of
Public Health
Simon Oberst
Organisation of European
Cancer Institutes (OECI)
Geoffrey Henning
Dr William Allum
European Society of 
Surgical Oncology (ESSO)
Prof Piotr Rutkowski
European Organisation 
for Research and
Treatment of
Cancer (EORTC)
Dr Laura Biganzoli
 European Society of 
Breast Cancer Specialists (EUSOMA)
 Prof Maurizio Brausi
European Association of Urology (EAU)
Dr Matti Aapro
European School 
of Oncology (ESO)
  Prof Francoise Meunier
European Organisation for Research and 
Treatment of Cancer (EORTC)  
  Johan De Munter
European Oncology 
Nursing Society